College RugbyPlay A Varsity Sport

One of the NCCAA's five “Emerging Sports For Women”Play rugby at college

and the sport continues to grow

For example in May 2021 Princeton University announced its intention to add women’s rugby as a varsity sport beginning during the 2022-23 academic year.

Currently classified as an NCAA emerging sport, sponsoring institutions may apply the participation figures towards gender equity requirements.

What this means is that coaches of womens rugby teams are keen to recruit skilled players onto their teams – and are often seen at tournaments around the country actively talking to girls

Current Division I teams are:

  • Brown University,
  • Dartmouth College,
  • Harvard University,
  • Quinnipiac University,
  • Sacred Heart University,
  • United States Military Academy,
  • Mount Saint Mary’s

Division II:

  • American International College,
  • Central Washington University,
  • Long Island University-Post,
  • Molloy College,
  • Notre Dame College,
  • Queen’s University,
  • West Chester University.

Division III:

  • Bowdoin College,
  • Castleton University,
  • Coby-Sawyer College,
  • Norwich University,
  • University of New England
Teams take part in Saturday play at the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship in Philadelphia, USA. June 1, 2019. 

Jack Megaw. All Rights Reserved.